24th annual SE Iowa Volleyball classic

Saturday at 7 p.m. will mark the 24th annual Southeast Iowa Volleyball Classic hosted by Fairfield High School.

The varsity coaches from the Southeastern Conference, the Southeast Iowa Super Conference and Burlington High nominate senior volleyball players who are then placed on a ballot with 24 selected for the all-star match.

Pekin?s Ken Hutchinson will be one of four coaches.

His Panther team finished 2017 with a 22-16 record, beating Sigourney in the second round of the playoffs, before being eliminated by Pella Christian on the road.

Fairfield?s Ashtyn Drish and Pekin?s Whitney Johnson were selected as players.

Drish played in all 81 sets on the season for the Trojans, recording 80 kills with 231/241 serves succesful for a 95.9 percent rate and 17 aces.

Johnson played in all 102 sets for the Panthers. She tallied six kills and recorded 247 succesful serves in 270 attempts with 25 aces on the year.