Buena Vista University; Simpson College; University of Iowa

Buena Vista University

STORM LAKE ? Area students have been named to the dean?s list for the fall 2017 semester at Buena Vista University.

Students named to the dean?s list must have a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 for the semester, based on a 4.0 grade point system, and must have taken at least 12 hours of coursework.

The dean?s list includes Gage Cook and Tanner Cook, both of Fairfield.


Simpson College

INDIANOLA ? Simpson College has announced the students named to the 2017 fall semester dean?s list.

Students named to the dean?s list earned a 3.7 to 3.99 grade-point average.

The list includes: Jessie McElderry of Batavia; Cade Millikin of Hedrick; and Ellen Willhoit of Batavia.


University of Iowa

IOWA CITY ? Area students have named to the University of Iowa fall 2017 dean?s list.

The students include: Marjorie Baker and Phillip Laux, both of Brighton; Tanner Smith of Cantril; Cameron Baumann, Michael Corazza, Eugenia Davis, Kathryn Estey, Alex Hoffmann, Zachary Martin, Elijah Parr, Madeline Riegel, Jivani Rodriguez, Girindra Selleck, Kyle Weirup and Thomas Wood, all of Fairfield; Emily Jester and Courtney Laux, both of Keosauqua; and McKayla Boyd of Milton.


University of Iowa

IOWA CITY ? Zachary Martin, a University of Iowa student from Fairfield, as named to the university?s president?s list for the fall 2017 semester.

The president?s list was established in the fall of 1983 to recognize academic excellence. In order to be included on the list, a student must have a minimum 4.0 grade-point average (4.0 is an A) in all academic subjects for the preceding two semesters, with a total of at least 12 semester hours of credit per semester during that period.

Approximately 400 students were named to the president?s list for the fall 2017 semester.


University of Iowa

IOWA CITY ? Several area students received their degrees from the University of Iowa at the close of the fall 2017 semester.

Those students included: Patricia Cornick of Fairfield, BA-Criminology, Law and Justice; David James of Fairfield, BA-Enterprise Leadership; Madeline Riegel of Fairfield, BA-Sociology; Kyle Weirup of Fairfield, BBA-Finance; and David Ackland of Farmington, BA-Sociology.