Farmers market vouchers available for eligible senior citizens in Iowa

As part of a national initiative, Milestones Area Agency on Aging will begin distributing Farmers Market vouchers June 1 to low- and moderate-income seniors for use at approved local farmers markets.

Milestones is the distribution agency for seniors living in Appanoose, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, Wapello and Wayne counties.

All eligible Iowans must be age 60 on the day vouchers are picked up and meet the income guidelines.

Annual income requirements are $22,459 or below for a single person and $30,451 or below for a married couple. Both spouses can receive checks. Recipients must sign a statement of eligibility that includes their name, address, phone number and the last four digits of their Social Security number.

Recipients are awarded 10 $3-checks valued at $30. The checks can be used June through October for fresh, unprepared, locally grown fresh fruits, vegetables, herbs and honey at participating farmers market vendors. Checks cannot be used for baked goods, eggs, jelly, meat, etc.

Distribution of the coupons will take place at most of the Milestones Area Agency on Aging senior nutrition meal centers throughout the following 10 counties of Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe, Van Buren, Wapello and Wayne.

In Jefferson County, distribution will be 9-11 a.m. June 14 at the Fairfield Senior Citizen Center.

In Van Buren County, distribution will be 11 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. June 13 at the American Legion Building in Milton, and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. June 14 and June 15 at the Keosauqua Senior Center.

The Milestones AAA Office in Ottumwa also will distribute coupons 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday starting June 4 through the end of the month or until the vouchers are gone.

For more details and other distributions locations, call Milestones at 855-410-6222 or visit the website at