FHS names Students of Month

Fairfield High School officials have announced the FHS Students of the Month for February.

The recognized students are: freshman Liam Wells, sophomore Lindy Kaska, junior Ashley Bloomquist and senior Shawn Spurrier.

Liam Wells is the son of Kevin and Lili Wells. He was nominated by Sharon Flinspach, who said, ?Liam?s TAG project on photography was outstanding ? one of the best I?ve seen!?

Lindy Kaska is the daughter of Jim and Laura Kaska. She was nominated by Mark Eubank, who said, ?Lindy has a very positive attitude! A positive attitude causes a chain reaction of positive thoughts, events, and outcomes.?

Ashley Bloomquist is the daughter of Todd and Angela Bloomquist. She was nominated by Michelle Higgins, who said, ?I appreciate Ashley?s hard work ethic and her moral character. She goes above and beyond normal expectations to be as successful as she can be.?

Shawn Spurrier is the son of Ron and Sheryl Spurrier. He was nominated by Lisa Myers, who said, ?I nominated Shawn because he has always been so respectful, honest, and a very hard-working student. He would be an amazing student of the month.?

Each month, the FHS faculty nominates one student from each class to receive ?Student of the Month.? The program is meant to promote success in and out of the classroom. For a student to be a well-respected citizen, they must be able to balance many different areas of life. They must exemplify outstanding characteristics both as a student and as a citizen of the community. The student must be able to handle many different aspects of student life while maintaining excellence in the classroom. This award is designed to nominate and select students who promote and take pride in FHS, in themselves, and in others.

In addition to earning the award, students will have their picture displayed in the FHS front foyer, receive a gift from Fairfield Hy-Vee Food and Drug Store, and a certificate.

FHS and Hy-Vee will host a breakfast at the end of the year for Students of the Month and their families. During the breakfast, a Student of the Year will be awarded.