FMS SEIBA Honor Band

Fairfield Middle School sixth-graders Evie Messer, flute, Murphy Craun, clarinet, Nate Konczal, alto saxophone, and Ben Boatright, percussion, joined 185 other first- and second-year band students April 21 at the fourth annual Southeast Iowa Bandmasters Association Elementary Honor Band.

The event was held in Washington, with rehearsals in the high school band room and gymnasium, and the concert in the Washington High School gymnasium.

The 95-piece second-year band, of which all Fairfield students were members, performed ?Cimarron Fanfare? by Robert Sheldon; ?Daybreak? by William Owens; ?The Lost Tomb? by Sean O?Loughlin; ?Thunder Bay Legend? by David Shaffer; and ?Banana Split? by David Martin.

Stephanie Nuss, an elementary band director in the Linn-Mar school district, directed the band.