Iowan of the Day nominations due

DES MOINES ? Each year the Iowa State Fair Blue Ribbon Foundation and Cookies Food Products collaborates to honor individuals who exemplify the characteristics that all true Iowans possess.

The Blue Ribbon Foundation wants to honor those who work hard to better their communities and the state of Iowa through their volunteer efforts by selecting 10 Iowans who demonstrate an honest work ethic and dedication to their community while showing an exceptional sense of Iowa pride.

Each of the 10 Iowan of the Day winner is awarded a day of recognition at the 2018 Iowa State Fair, Aug. 9-19, including an introduction on the Anne and Bill Riley stage, $200 cash, use of a golf cart for the day, VIP parking, gate admission, hotel accommodations and four tickets to the evening Grandstand concert.

Since 1997, the Iowan of the Day program has become an Iowa State Fair tradition honoring more than 200 Iowans across the state.

Three people from Fairfield have been honored: Craig Foss in 1998, Therese Cummiskey in 2001, and Jan Espy in 2006.

?I can?t adequately express how much I enjoyed the experience,? said Cummiskey. ?Everything from the start to finish was great.?

Anyone can nominate outstanding Iowans in their neighborhood.

Nomination forms can be found online at or contact Macy Evans at 515-262-3111 Ext. 378. The deadline for all nominations is July 1. All nominees must currently reside in Iowa.

The Iowa State Fair Blue Ribbon Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)3 organization. Since its inception in 1993, the foundation has generated more than $135 million for renovations and improvements to the Iowa State Fairgrounds. For more information, contact the Blue Ribbon Foundation at 800-450-3732 or