Pekin boys? track team moving up to 2A

When you?ve been coaching runners for 50-plus years, you?re an expert five times over and that?s why I?m going to treat the information legendary Head Coach Davis Eidahl sent me about his team as an editorial on Pekin boys? track 2018.


Outlook for 2018

After getting runner up in class 1A last year, the Pekin boys move up to 2A in track this spring. Despite moving up, the Panthers look for another successful track season.

One thing that makes our team very competitive this year is the number of seniors we have out. Besides the years of experience they have had, they bring leadership and team chemistry to the team.

This year the coaches include Davis Eidahl, Bill Rex (jumpers), Alissa Kitzman (hurdlers) and Lisa Crabtree (throws).

This group of coaches has over 130 years of experience in coaching track and field.


Team strengths

Distance and half milers, sprinters, depth in hurdlers and State experience.

Chandler Eckley, Sam Roth, and Isaiah Wittrock ran on the state record 4x8 team and the runner up 4x4 team.

These could be some of the best runners in the state, and fitting right in will be Cameron Millikin running the 400 and 800.



Monico Requena, Dayne Eckley, and Chase Eckley were runner up in the 4 x 1 and will run the sprints relays again this year.



Colton Glosser leads the group in the mile and 2 mile. Colton was also our top runner in cross country this fall.



Levi Long, a state qualifier in the 400 hurdles, will lead the hurdle group and also will be a top hurdler. The shuttle hurdle team of Lathe Crochet, Quinn Ledger and Jordan Hixson all ran last year in the shuttle hurdle at the state meet.


Long jump

Devin Fraise


Shot and discus

Slater Williams



We need to develop high jumpers and throwers. We have the potential in those events, but need time to develop them. We have a very hardworking team with big goals in sight. We also have one of the better freshman classes to come in. Many of those will get a lot of varsity experience.


Pekin boys? track members include:

Seniors: Kaden Baker, Clayton Culp, Canyon Decker, Chandler Eckley, Chase Eckley, Jordan Hixson, Skyler Juhl, Levi Long, Kevin Ramos, Monico Requena, Sam Roth, Slater Williams and Isaiah Wittrock.

Juniors: Lathe Crochet, Tugg Hill, Quinn Ledger, Cameron Millikin and Alex Solomon

Sophomores: Dustin Adams, Tanner Conger, Dayne Eckley, Devin Fraise, Colten Glosser, Kennan Winn, Ethan Phillips and Trevor Van Brocklin

Freshmen: Cole Earnest, Michael Jones, Mason Juhl, Logan Kealey, Brady Latcham, Cael Lyl, Brady Millikin, Bryden Soboski and Orion Weber

Managers: Lexi Bowen, Loraine Dodson and Mackenze Manley.