Sandquist elected board chairwoman

The Jefferson County Board of Supervisors held its first meeting of 2018 Tuesday morning in the Jefferson County Courthouse first-floor meeting room, with Supervisor Dee Sandquist attending about 45 minutes of the meeting via telephone.

Sandquist was selected as the 2018 board chairwoman, and Lee Dimmitt as board vice chairman.

Sandquist was elected to the county board of supervisors in 2016. In addition to her supervisor duties, she also is a registered dietitian at the Fairfield Hy-Vee Food and Drug Store and has been active with The Hunger Dialogue, a group of community members collaborating to strategically address hunger and food insecurity in the county. Her family has resided in Jefferson County since 1886.

Dimmitt has been on the board of supervisors since 2009, and was re-elected in 2016. He sits on more than a dozen other boards outside of the board of supervisors, such as the Emergency Management Board, the local housing trust fund, Jefferson County Ambulance Board and others. Dimmitt was born in Ottumwa in 1952. He worked at Walker?s Office Supplies.

Dick Reed is the third member of the Jefferson County Board of Supervisors.

The supervisors agreed to keep the board?s regular meeting time at 9 a.m. each Monday in the county courthouse. They tabled making board and committee assignments so that Sandquist could be present and participate in the conversation.