Southeast Iowa Super Conference boys? basketball honors

Three of the four schools within The Ledger?s coverage area compete in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference, or the SEISC as it?s more commonly known. The mega-conference has two division with nine schools in each. Pekin is a member of the north division, while Van Buren and Cardinal compete in the south.

Pekin is led by Ken Hutchinson and the Panthers finished 13-9 overall and 9-7 in the SEISC, good for third in the north. Van Buren finished 11-11 overall and 6-10 in conference play, good for a sixth-place tie in the south. Cardinal finished 1-20 overall and 0-17 in the SEISC, leaving them ninth place in the south.


Here are the 2017-18 boys? SEISC all-conference teams.

First Team - North Cameron Millikin, Jr, Pekin

Millikin led the Panthers in scoring with 14.2 points per game, three-pointers made with 38, and free-throw percentage with 70.6 percent. He was also second in free throws made(36), attempted(51) and assists(65). The junior also grabbed 52 rebounds, nabbed 28 steals and blocked four shots.


Brady Walker, Sr, Louisa-Muscatine Zack Lasek, So, Highland

Trenton Massner, Sr, Wapello

Keaton Mitchell, Jr, Wapello

Logan Belzer, Sr, Wapello

Cole Ours, Sr, IMS Mitchell Schmeider, Sr, IMS Brock Smith, Sr, Lone Tree Second Team - North

Gage Witte, Sr, Wapello

Reggie Borntrager, Sr, IMS

Zack Bieri, Sr, Louisa-Muscatine Ben Wolgemuth, Jr, Mediapolis

BJ Rodgers, Sr, Winfield-MU

Trey Lasek, Jr, Highland

Keegan Edwards, So, Lone Tree

Tommy Pretz, Sr, Columbus

Eli Ours, Fr, IMS


Honorable Mention North Division


Caleb Comstock, Jr.

Comstock was second on the Panthers in scoring with 7.7 ppg. He also led the team in free throws made(41) and attempted(69), proving he can successfully attack the basket and convert his foul shots. Caleb also grabbed 95 rebounds, dished a team-high 89 assists, and made 31 steals to go with his three blocked shots.


Chandler Eckley, Sr.

Eckley was third in scoring for Pekin with 7.3 ppg and tied for second on the squad with 99 rebounds. The senior also had 32 assists, 37 steals and two blocks.


Wapello: Sam Short, Sr.

IMS: Trever Leyden, Jr-Caleb Gingerich, Jr.

Highland: Mason McFarland, So Brody Burton, Jr.

L-M: Dawson Munday, Sr-Brandon Burmeister, Sr.

Lone Tree: Austin Marshek, Jr- Brady Dauber, So.

Mediapolis: Brady Pfeiff Sr- Will Schroeder, Sr.

W-MU: Cody McCreight, Sr- Mitchell Niebuhr, Sr.

Columbus: Abel Mena, Sr- Eric Valdez, So.


Player of the Year

Trenton Massner, Wapello

Coach of the Year

Ken Spielbauer, Wapello


First Team - South

Jaeden Gerig, Sr, Van Buren

Gerig scored 349 points on the year, good for 15.9 ppg to lead the Warriors offense while shooting nearly 53 percent from the field. He also led the team in blocks with 22, free throws made with 53, and was second in free throw attempts(78), rebounds(138), assists(62) and steals(31). His 10 three-pointers was also good for third on Van Buren.


Evan Doyle, Sr, Central Lee

Ryle Koenig, Jr, Notre Dame

Isaac McSorley, Jr, New London

Keontae Luckett, Jr, New London

Tanner Snodgrass, Jr, West Burlington

Max Wilcox, Jr, Danville

Jett Tjaden, Sr, Notre Dame

Isaac Moeller, Sr, Central Lee

Nik Coble, So, WACO


Second Team - South

Caleb Johnson, Jr, Van Buren

Johnson was second in scoring for the Warriors with 12.9 ppg. He shot 40 percent from the field and nearly 38 percent from the perimeter while leading the team in three pointers made(63) and attempted(167). His 84 rebounds was fourth on the team. He was also fifth in assists(35), fourth in steals(23) and third in blocks(10).

Jake Fraise, Sr, Central Lee

Jonah Marlow, Jr, West Burlington

Gavin Kies, Jr, Notre Dame

Taylor Kensett, So, Danville

Alex Dentlinger, Sr, New London

Grant Swanson, So, New London

Colton Hohenthaner, Sr, West Burlington

Bryce Carr, Jr, Danville

Colton Horak, Jr, WACO, Sr


Honorable Mention - South Division

Van Buren:

Mason McDonough, Jr.

McDonough was third in scoring with 10.7 ppg for Van Buren while shooting nearly 51 percent from the field. He led the team in all three rebounding categories with 71 offensive, 89 defensive and 160 total. Mason also had 11 assists, 30 steals and 14 blocks for the Warriors.


Brycen Starnes, Jr.

Starnes scored 5.9 ppg for Head Coach Fred Parsons team. He also had 38 rebounds, 19 steals and four blocks, while leading the team with 76 assists.


Cardinal: The Comets coaching staff did not submit complete stats to the state for postseason publication.

Grant Clark, Sr.

Wyatt Gatton, Sr.


Notre Dame: Jason Osborn, Sr-Mitchell Brent, So.

Central Lee: Jared Brisby, Sr-Lane Campbell, Sr.

West Burlington: Landen Greer, Sr- Dayton Johnson, Sr.

New London: Koby McBeth, Sr- Jalen Birdsell, Jr.

Danville: Hunter Perkins, Jr- Tristan Miller, Jr.

WACO: Drew Kissell, So- Calvin Battle, Sr.

Holy Trinity Catholic: Matt Hellige, So- Reed Fehseke, So.


Player of the Year

Evan Doyle, Sr, Central Lee

Coach of the Year

Dan Kies, Notre Dame